Department of Geography and Anthropology

About Department: Faculty and Staff

Steven Onofiok

Part-time Assistant Professor of Geography

Contact Information

Office: Social Sciences (SO 22), Room 4005
Phone: 470-578-6919
Fax: 470-578-9147


Dr. Onofiok obtained his undergraduate degree in Plant-Soil Science at the University of Nigeria, Nsukka and Master’s (1979) and Doctorate (1983) degrees, in Soil Science at the University of California, Davis. He also has a Master’s degree in Christian Discipleship Counseling (2005) from Luther Rice Seminary, Lithonia, Georgia.

His professional experience spans over thirty years in the areas of university teaching, research, administration, consultancy, and Christian counseling. He began his teaching, research, and consulting career in 1984 at the Department of Soil Science, University of Nigeria, Nsukka, where he served for 9 years. By 1988, he had attained a Senior Lecturer (Associate Professor) status in the university. His research and consultancy interests were in soil morphology and applied soil physics in which he has published several journal articles, both in the local and international journals.

Stephen voluntarily retired from active teaching in 1992 to become part of a team that was put together by the Federal Government of Nigeria to implement a nation-wide agricultural land development program. In this, he served in various capacities, including a State Director, overseeing the overall implementation of projects, until 1998 when he relocated to the United States.

From 1998 until he joined the faculty, he have been actively engaged with soils and land-use consulting for environmental/engineering companies as well as training Christian counselors and one-on-one counseling of individuals with various spiritual/psychological problems.

Faculty and Staff

Bariteau, Erinn
Doran, David
Fazlollah, Alice
Gangadharan, Anilkumar
Gitahi, George
Golan, Maidie
Gray, Melissa
Ingram, Uli
Kerr, Heather
Lundy, Brandon
Majumder, Sarasij
McDaniel, Paul
Mersey, Ben
Mitchelson, Matthew
Moulder, Beth
Onofiok, Steven
Page, Dan
Patterson, Mark
Poe, Timothy
Powell, Sylvia
Powis, Terry
Pullen, Nancy
Raczek, Teresa
Rhodes, Jason
Sen, Debarati
Shelly, Robert
Slinger-Friedman, Vanessa
Smith, Garrett
Smith, Susan
Suther, Bradley
Tu, Jun
Van Horne, Wayne
Waller, Matthew
Wallsmith, Debbie
Williamson, Kenneth