Department of Geography and Anthropology

About Department: Faculty and Staff

Nicholas Ellwanger

Instructor of Anthropology

Contact Information

Office: Social Sciences (SO 22), Room 4005
Phone: 470-578-6919
Fax: 470-578-


Nick Ellwanger is a trained biological anthropologist who specializes in primate behavior, ecology, and demography. Nick received his BS in Neuroscience and Behavioral Biology from Emory University in 2002 and his MA in Anthropology from the University of Victoria, Canada in 2008. He is currently working to complete his PhD in Anthropology at the University of Texas at San Antonio. His research primarily focuses on the interaction between female primate feeding behavior, diet, and nutrition and its long-term consequences on reproduction and life-history. His ultimate research questions revolve around how proximate and ultimate strategies shape female primates’ ability to reproduce successful within an ecological and evolution context. For his PhD research, Nick intends to study wild chacma baboons in South Africa’s coastal fynbos region, a unique ecological zone that produces multiple ecological challenges for these primates. He hopes to shed light on strategies of nutrient acquisition that can inform future research on reproductive capabilities and population health of this primate population. In addition, he hopes that his research will aid conservation efforts to save this and many other threatened primate species by producing knowledge of nutritional requirements and potential implications of habitat loss and degradation. Outside of academics and teaching, Nick enjoys travel, long-distance running, playing the cello, and cooking.

Faculty and Staff

Bariteau, Erinn
Doran, David
Ellwanger, Nicholas
Fazlollah, Alice
Gangadharan, Anilkumar
Gitahi, George
Golan, Maidie
Gray, Melissa
Ingram, Uli
Lundy, Brandon
Majumder, Sarasij
Mersey, Ben
Mitchelson, Matthew
Moulder, Beth
Onofiok, Steven
Page, Dan
Patterson, Mark
Poe, Timothy
Powell, Sylvia
Powis, Terry
Pullen, Nancy
Raczek, Teresa
Rhodes, Jason
Sen, Debarati
Shelly, Robert
Slinger-Friedman, Vanessa
Smith, Garrett
Smith, Susan
Suther, Bradley
Tu, Jun
Van Horne, Wayne
Waller, Matthew
Wallsmith, Debbie
Williamson, Kenneth